To become eligible for a real estate license in Kansas, you need to meet the following basic requirements:
- You must be at least 18 years old.
- You should have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- You must not have been convicted of certain felonies within a specific timeframe.
Steps to Apply for Licensure
To apply for a real estate license through the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC), follow these steps:
Complete a 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course from an accredited school and receive a completion certificate. This certificate remains valid for 12 months and is essential for taking the Licensure Exam.
Pass both sections of the Licensure Exam. You will receive a score report for each part of the exam. Each report is valid for 6 months from the date of passing that section.
Undergo a KBI/FBI criminal background check. The background check is valid for 6 months.
Finish the 30-hour Kansas Practice Course from an accredited school and obtain a completion certificate. The Kansas Practice Course certificate remains valid for 6 months.
Affiliate with a real estate broker.
30-Hour Principles of Real Estate Course – $235
Upon registration for the course, begin the Online Course, which provides access to the State and National study portion, diagnostic exams, and final exams. The online course exam is divided into two parts and requires a minimum score of 90% on each section. In case you do not achieve a score of 90%, you will have additional attempts to retake the exam.
Attend a 3-hour required Zoom Webinar, Kansas License Law, at the first opportunity. The webinar takes place from 8-11 am. You will receive all the necessary details, including the webinar link and a PDF of the State study materials.
Participate in an 8-hour required in-person Exam Prep Seminar from 8 am-5 pm. Make sure to complete the online course and attend the Zoom Webinar before joining the Exam Prep Seminar.
After completing the three steps mentioned above, download and print your certificate. The Principles of Real Estate certificate is valid for 12 months. It is important to carry a copy of this certificate with you when you take your Kansas Licensure exam at a Pearson VUE testing center.
Required Zoom Webinar #1 (Kansas License Law)
- Zoom, Saturday, 8-11 am:
- September 16
- October 21
- December 2
Required In-person Seminar #2 (Exam Prep)
- Live (in-person), Saturday, 8 am-5 pm:
- September 9
- October 7
- November 4
Kansas Licensure Exam – $82 ($75 for a re-take exam, if necessary)
A Pearson VUE Real Estate Candidate Handbook that provides information on scheduling the exam and exam procedures will be provided at the live Exam Prep Seminar. You can download the handbook from here.
You must pass the exam within 12 months of the date on your Principles of Real Estate certificate. Follow these steps to pass the exam:
- Schedule the Exam appointment with Pearson VUE.
- Achieve a minimum score of 70% on each section (State and National) of the timed, closed-book exam.
- Upon passing either the State or the National section, a score report will be issued for that portion of the exam.
- If you pass both sections of the exam, your score reports will be valid for 6 months. If you pass only one section of the State Exam, you must pass the other section and complete the application process before the first score report expires. In case you do not complete the application process within the 6-month timeframe, you will need to start the process again.
Note: All images are available on the Garrity Traina website.
KBI/FBI Criminal Background Check – $60
A fingerprint/background kit will be provided at the live Exam Prep Seminar. Alternatively, you may request a kit from KREC or obtain one at the Pearson VUE testing center when taking the Licensure Exam. Your criminal background check will be valid for 6 months.
30-Hour Kansas Practice Course – Online format – $160
- This is the final course before applying for your license. It is recommended to take this course after passing the Pearson Vue exam.
- Upon purchasing the course, you will have access to it on OnlineEd.com.
- Complete the open-book online exam with a passing score of 90% or above.
- After passing the exam, download and print your certificate. A copy of this Practice Course certificate must be submitted to KREC as part of your application. The certificate is valid for 6 months.
Affiliate with a Broker
In Kansas, you are required to work under the supervision of a broker for a minimum of two years. You can proceed with all the steps before submitting your application, but affiliation with a broker is essential before applying for your license.
If you don’t have a broker in mind, it is recommended to interview three to five brokers in your area to consider for affiliation. Here are some suggested interview questions to ask:
- [Question 1]
- [Question 2]
- [Question 3]
Apply for a License – License Application & License Fee – $140
After passing the Licensing Exam, affiliate with a broker and apply for your license with the KREC within 6 months of passing the exam and before any of your certificates expire. Submit the following documents to KREC:
- Education Certificate received upon completing the Principles of Real Estate course online exam.
- Two score reports provided by Pearson VUE when you pass the two sections of the State Exam.
- Copy of your Kansas Practice Course certificate.
- Your KBI/FBI criminal background kit and $60 fee (if not already submitted).
- $140 application and license fee.
Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) Requirements for a Kansas Real Estate License
To view the requirements set by the Kansas Real Estate Commission for obtaining a Kansas real estate license, visit the official Garrity Traina website.[Go Back to Top]
Cancellation Policy: A 20% cancellation fee applies. No refunds or transfers will be granted once the course has started or materials have been received.